Spiced Breakfast Muffins

I’ll be honest, pretty much everything I’ve cooked from www.wellnourished.com.au has hit the mark. And these spiced breakfast muffins are no exception!

Firstly, they are healthy. A big tick for me, considering I’m studying Nutritional and Dietetic medicine. These muffins are grain free, gluten free and dairy free. But they certainly are not lacking in flavour, and the texture is the best I’ve found in a healthy muffin. True story! They also freeze well, which is great for our small family – a batch of 12 will keep us happy for a couple of weeks. I love them served warm with butter. My fussy toddler loves them straight from the fridge.

My tips:

  • The recipe says to use non-stick muffin cases, however I like to use a silicone muffin tray and lightly grease with coconut or olive oil.
  • You can steam the sweet potato and apple while you’re boiling your veggies for dinner. I often do this and keep the sweet potato and apple until I’m ready to bake the next day.
  • I sometimes place a thin slice of apple on top of each muffin before putting them in the oven. My husband doesn’t love this (he’s not a fan of cooked fruit) but I think it makes them more delicious. Plus they look a bit fancy.
  • They are named ‘breakfast’ muffins, and it’s true, they are a great breakfast. But I also have one with a smoothie for lunch some days, and it keeps me powering through the afternoon.
Leave a Reply

