My waffle journey begins…

I bought a waffle iron about 15 years ago, and I haven’t used for about the past 10 of those years! On the weekend we had a garage sale to get rid of some old furniture and baby items, so I went through the kitchen cupboards to see what appliances I could sell. Well, there it was, my little penguin shaped (don’t judge) waffle iron, untouched for so long. So, I set out to make use of it this week and I’m glad I did!

I have followed paleOMG for years. I love her recipes, her humour, and her honesty, plus the fact that she’s paleo but not always “strict” paleo, so there’s sometimes cheese in her recipes and that’s ok by me! I knew she loved waffles, but I didn’t realise just how much she loves waffles – she has a serious collection of paleo waffle recipes I can tell you!

So I decided to try one of her many varieties, the Cinnamon Banana Waffles. I chose these because I had two very ripe bananas sitting in my fruit bowl that needed to be used. Easy decision, because if I had no real reason to choose these ones, I would probably still be trying to decide which waffles to make 4 hours after breakfast time because there are so many I want to try and decision making isn’t one of my strong points.

So, was I happy with my choice? Yes indeed. They were super easy to make (I love a recipe where you throw ingredients in the food processor and bam! mixed perfectly), they tasted fabulous, and my two year old loved them.

My tips:

  • You can freeze them! This batch made way more than my toddler and I could eat, so I froze the leftovers in a zip-lock bag. To defrost/reheat, pop them in the toaster. They come out so nice and crispy.
  • I served them with butter. No extra syrup required. Fruit would be nice on top too!

Stay tuned for more waffle reviews soon!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

