“The best pork I’ve ever eaten”

My brother is a bit of a foodie. Any visits to his house always include some kind of three course gourmet meal which never disappoints. So when he and his wife came to our place for dinner, I knew I had to serve something fabulous. Only catch was, my husband’s family also came for dinner, so I had to cater for about 14 people. Eep!

I decided pulled pork with coleslaw and flat breads would be an easy dish to make in bulk, so I did a quick search of the net for an easy pork recipe that I could throw in the slow cooker and not have to spend hours in the kitchen preparing. With that many visitors I wanted to be mingling, not cooking all afternoon! Plus it was the middle of summer, so not turning the oven on was also high on the priority list.

I found this Slow Cooker Apple Rosemary Pork Roast recipe by Pure and Simple Nourishment and thought it sounded too good to be true – it is so easy to make. Just throw the ingredients in the slow cooker and put it on low for 8-10 hours. Simple!

So, how did it go? It was incredible. Everyone loved it, and my foodie brother claimed it was the best pork he’d ever eaten. He even called my mum and told her to ask for it next time she visits.

It’s now a regular dinner in our house, we all love it (fussy 2 year old included), and it never fails to impress guests. Tonight we had it with flat breads (recipe here) and I made a quick apple slaw with red cabbage, green cabbage, apple, carrot and a dressing made with olive oil, apple cider vinegar, honey and lime juice. Delicious!

My tips:

  • This recipe is forgiving. Don’t have chives? I’ve also made this using onion powder, or shallots. Both work beautifully. Don’t have broth? Water will work too. Got no rosemary? Try thyme instead.
  • This is fabulous for entertaining. I’ve made flat breads using this recipe by Wellness Mama and they go really well with it and some coleslaw. Or if you don’t want to make your own flat breads, there are many options (gluten free included, if you require) from the supermarket or health food store. You could also serve it with bread rolls.
  • I take the leftover pork and coleslaw to uni for lunch the next day. So. Good.
Leave a Reply

