The Bliss Balls that Really are Blissful

How good are bliss balls? They really are the perfect snack. Portable. Easy to make. Tasty (well, usually). Nutritious (again – usually). What’s not to love?

We are a bliss ball house. My husband makes a batch every fortnight. I don’t like his ones – he adds protein powder and to me it tastes like soap. I think it’s the stevia – that stuff and I just don’t gel. Peppermint cream bliss balls though – hello! Where have you been all my life? Peppermint is one of my favourite flavours. If I buy chocolate – 9 times out of 10, it’s dark chocolate with mint. So when I stumbled upon this recipe for peppermint bliss balls from wholefoodsimply.com I knew I had to try them.

The result? B.L.I.S.S. They are seriously yum. Like, take them away from me or I’ll eat the entire batch in one sitting yum. And they are simple to make! Double win!

Are they healthy? Uh-huh. Beware the fructose if you use honey or dates to sweeten them, but apart from that – there’s nothing to be afraid of.

My tips:

  • to avoid fructose, use rice malt syrup. I’ve never tried the recipe using dates but I imagine it would be freakin’ delicious.
  • use damp hands for easier ball rolling
  • I say rolling – but my technique is more squeezing than rolling, I find if I roll them they fall apart. Is that just me?
  • the recipe calls for dry roasted cashews. I prefer activated. I have tried this recipe with both and each tastes great, so I’ll stick with activated from here on. Not sure about activating nuts? Here is a good run down from theholisticingredient.com.
Leave a Reply

